Media partner

Media partner

Piano partner

Wine Sponsor

Introducing the 2019 International Opera Awards jury:


John Allison (chair) Editor, Opera; classical music critic, The Daily Telegraph

David Agler Artistic Director, Wexford Festival Opera

Michael Ajzenstadt Artistic Administrator, The Israel Opera

Shirley Apthorp Contributor, Financial Times, OperaOpera Now; Founder and Director, Umculo Cape Festival

John Berry Director Scenario2; Artistic Director Opera Ventures; Advisor to Bolshoi Theatre and Wiener Staatsoper

Xavier Cester Chief Opera Critic newspaper ARA (Barcelona)

James Clutton Director of Opera, Opera Holland Park

Dr. Mihai Cosma Musicologist

Peter De Caluwe CEO and Artistic Director, La Monnaie

Serge Dorny General Director, Opéra de Lyon

Cori Ellison Dramaturg, Santa Fe Opera

Umberto Fanni Director General and Artistic Director, Royal Opera House Muscat

Neil Fisher Deputy Arts Editor, The Times

Lauren Flanigan Soprano; Founder/Director Music and Mentoring House, Inc.

George Hall Opera critic

Brenda Hurley Director of the International Opera Studio , Zürich Opera

Robert Koerner Director of Artistic Production, Opéra de Lyon

Alek Laskowski Music writer (The Adam Mickiewicz Institute, Warsaw)

Joanna Lee Contributor, Opera

Elizabeth Llewellyn Soprano

George Loomis Contributor, Opera, Financial Times,, The New Criterion

Fiona Maddocks Chief classical music critic, The Observer; member of Opera editorial board

Njabulo Madlala Baritone; Artistic and Executive Director, Voices of South Africa

Andrew Mellor Journalist and critic

Susanne Mentzer Mezzo-soprano, teacher, arts advocate and writer

Prof. Christoph Meyer General Director Deutsche Oper am Rhein

Barbara Minghetti Artistic Director, Macerata Opera Festival

Annilese Miskimmon Opera director; Director of Opera, Den Norske Opera and Ballet

Hein Mulders Intendant, Aalto-Theater und Philharmonie Essen

Eric Owens Bass-baritone

Nicholas Payne Director, Opera Europa

Gerhard Persché Contributor, Opera (Vienna), Opernwelt and Fono Forum

Anna Picard Contributor: The Times, The Telegraph, BBC Radio 3; research & repertoire consultant, Opera Holland Park

Valery Serkin Artist manager

Matthew Shilvock General Director, San Francisco Opera

Ken Smith Critic, The Financial Times; contributor, Opera; commentator, RTHK Radio 4

Carlos María Solare musicologist, music journalist, viola player

Birgitta Svenden CEO and Artistic Director, Royal Swedish Opera

Lyndon Terracini Artistic Director, Opera Australia

Thomas Yaksic Consultant, Theatre Projects Consultants

Francesca Zambello Artistic Director, The Washington National Opera at the Kennedy Center

By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Accept and close